How Do You Take a Bath? by Kate McMullan & illus. by Sydney Hanson

Bath time becomes an adventure in How Do You Take a Bath? by Kate McMullan & illustrated by Sydney Hanson, a charming new picture book that explores the many ways different animals get clean.

Perfect for fans of Five Little Monkeys Jump in the Bath, this fun and educational picture book brings together adorable baby animals and bathtime.

How do YOU take a bath?
Does your mama comb your fur?
Do you shake off all your dirt?
Do you splash and flap and quack?
Do the birdies peck your back?
No!

Follow elephants, pigs, monkeys, hippos, and more in this charming rhyming picture book from veteran author Kate McMullan. How does a pig take a bath? It sinks in the mud! What about a chicken? It thrashes about in dust! And a cat? Why, it licks itself clean, of course! Sydney Hanson’s adorable illustrations toggle neatly between animals in nature grooming themselves and humorous depictions of children attempting the animals’ bathing tactics. By the end of the book, the child finally makes his way to the bathtub, no mud baths or lick baths about it!

The illustrations in this book are oh-so-sweet, and I love the little expressions on each animal’s features. They bring each page to life.

The text is perfect for read aloud, and engages little listeners to interact with the story, respond to posed questions, and mimic the different ways each animal gets clean. Kids will be delighted as they learn about the different ways animals bathe, and relate to the human bathtime featured at the end of the story.

Parents will enjoy getting their kids excited about taking a bath, and the joy that comes from reading this one out loud. How Do You Take a Bath? is in stores now.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: