Category: Book Review

The Dire King by William Ritter

The Dire King by William Ritter

It’s hard to put into words how deeply I feel about the Jackaby series by William Ritter — and thereby, my intense emotions over The Dire King, the fourth and final book in this beloved quartet of books. I honestly haven’t given up hope for more books in the future – but officially, this is […]

Posted August 16, 2017 by Sara in Book Review / 0 Comments
Divider

A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor

A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor

A story about sisters, first love, growing up, and what it takes to survive, A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor is the must-read book to cap off your summer. We sat at the edge of the ocean—my sister Henri and I—inches apart but not touching at all. We’d been so sure someone would […]

Posted August 11, 2017 by Sara in Book Review / 2 Comments
Divider

What Goes Up by Katie Kennedy

What Goes Up by Katie Kennedy

I absolutely adored Katie Kennedy’s debut novel last year, Learning to Swear in America. So I was all-in for her sophomore follow-up, What Goes Up. Here’s more about it: Action-packed and wildly funny, this near-future sci-fi features three teens on an inter-dimensional mission to save the world. Rosa and Eddie are among hundreds of teens […]

Posted July 13, 2017 by Sara in Book Review / 0 Comments
Divider
Divider

The Lake Effect by Erin McCahan

The Lake Effect by Erin McCahan

A quirky and charming coming-of-age romance in the vein of Harold & Maude, The Lake Effect by Erin McCahan is the perfect book to kick off your summer reading. lake effect | n. The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areas It’s the summer after his senior […]

Posted June 28, 2017 by Sara in Book Review / 2 Comments
Divider
Divider

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

A smart, summery romance, When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon has been getting all the buzz lately for being one of the freshest new YA titles to hit the shelves – and I’m here to tell you, it lives up to that hype. A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about […]

Posted June 16, 2017 by Sara in Book Review / 1 Comment
Divider

What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

A story about forgiveness and finding yourself, What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum is as heartfelt as it is heartbreaking. Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world. KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like […]

Posted June 13, 2017 by Sara in Book Review / 1 Comment
Divider

We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan & Brian Conaghan

We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan & Brian Conaghan

How can you save a friend, if you can’t even save yourself? That’s the question facing two teens in We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan, a YA novel-in-verse about an unlikely friendship between two troubled teens. Nicu has emigrated from Romania and is struggling to find his place in his new home. […]

Posted June 9, 2017 by Sara in Book Review / 1 Comment
Divider
Divider