Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

Posted November 18, 2019 by Sara | Novel Novice 0 Comments

An absolute delightful book, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert is PACKED with so much to adore.

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang.

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamourous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And… do something bad.
But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…

Get a Life, Chloe Brown is a sexy, fun, flirty romance, that features some amazing representation. It also covers the struggles of dealing with chronic pain, and recovering from an abusive relationship. There’s moments of hilarity packed side-by-side with moments of impact and meaningfulness. It’s a book that both entertains and makes you think, and ultimately makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside.

The writing is particularly witty and enchanting, and I loved getting lost in Chloe’s and Red’s voices. They’re both such robust characters, and they are so vivid on each page. I loved getting to know them better, and witness their struggles and their strengths. (There’s also a cat who deserves all the awards for nearly stealing the show in every scene.)

There are a LOT of amazing sources of representation in this book, including characters coping with chronic pain, or recovering from an abusive relationship. But one of the lesser talked about reps that I really appreciated was a character of size! That is to say, Chloe is a curvy, plus-size girl … but what REALLY made me love this rep, is that the ONLY time Chloe is at all self-conscious about her size is when she’s climbing a tree and wonders if a thinner branch will hold her weight. (Which, yeah, duh, I get.) But you guys … THAT’S IT. It never comes up at any other point; it’s never a concern with her budding relationship with Red; she never worries about what he’ll think of her naked body. (Because her naked body ROCKS, and why would that even occur to her?)

This seems like such a small thing, but as a plus size gal myself, I get SO SICK of seeing plus-size character so obsess about their size (especially in romances) and how their romantic partner will see their body. Like, news flash: they’re already getting freaky with you; they like your body. So, MORE BOOKS LIKE THIS, PLEASE. Let size be a description, and not an issue.

A thoughtful, charming book packed with plenty of sexy romance, Get a Life, Chloe Brown is an enchanting read from start to finish. Look for it in stores now.

Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Book Review, Romance & Women's Fiction Tags:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.