No Filter by Orlagh Collins

Posted February 21, 2018 by Sara 0 Comments

The classic summer romance gets an emotional twist in No Filter by Orlagh Collins, about two teens falling in love, while trying to find their own happiness amidst family drama.

This poignant, sweepingly romantic contemporary YA debut is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han.

Anyone who follows Emerald on social media only sees a perfect life—a loving, wealthy family, a tight-knit group of friends, and a devoted internet following. But the truth hides behind the scenes of her perfectly framed, filtered photos . . . Emerald’s family is far from happy, and when she finds her mom unconscious on the bathroom floor, she can no longer keep it a secret.

Sent to stay with her grandmother in an isolated, wi-fi-free beach town while her mother recovers, Emerald fears the long, lonely summer. Then she meets Liam, an aspiring songwriter with his own troubles. But with secrets and lies all that they’re used to, can they really fall for each other—brave and true—with no filter?

The fresh, romantic debut novel is perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

I’m a sucker for a good summer love story, but I really enjoyed the fresh take Collins gives her tale – starting with the setting. Sure, we’re in a small coastal town – but this one is in Ireland. And the love interest? He’s Irish.

Even just reading things in his lilting accent made me feel swoony.

But what I really enjoyed was how the dynamic didn’t just revolve around these two characters and their romance. Told in two perspectives, the book really dives into each individual character’s life and the unique challenges they each face — independent of their relationship.

Then there’s the fact that, while they do still act like teenagers (that is, they do stupid things and make mistakes), the arc of the story shows growing maturity in both characters, and it was really refreshing to see that sort of character growth and development in a believable way.

The resolutions of their problems are messy and imperfect, just like they are in life, but the ending of the book will bring you back to that romantic, swoony feeling most readers want in a sweet summer love story. Look for No Filter in stores on March 6th.

Sara
Divider

Posted in: Book Review Tags:

Leave a Reply