The Boy Most Likely To(ur): Two Truths & A Lie (& a Contest!)

Posted September 8, 2015 by Sara | Novel Novice 7 Comments

Welcome to Day #2 of The Boy Most Likely To(ur)!

To celebrate the release of The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick (8/18/15), 10 blogs across the web will be featuring exclusive content from Huntley, as well as a chance to win a YA Goodie Basket in the Grand Prize Giveaway!

Today, Huntley stops by to play Two Truths and a Lie!

Two Truths and a Lie

Some of you may be familiar with 2 Truths and a Lie (if you’ve ever gone to  summer camp or been a freshman in college).  Huntley will be giving us 3 statements each about herself, The Boy Most Likely To, Tim Mason, and Alice Garrett — two of which will be true, one of which will be a LIE. Then object of the game is to identify the lie. The answers are at the bottom!

Two truths and a lie about Huntley Fitzpatrick:

  1. I fell in love for the first time walking into kindergarten and stayed in love with that kid for the next ten years.
  2. Growing up, I wanted to work in film but the only job I ever had was spraying a hose at Rick Springfield while he lay on a beach singing for a music video
  3. I was named after my grandmother, but her name was Becca Huntley—if they hadn’t dropped the first one, there would be two Becca Fitzpatricks who write YA.

Two truths and a lie about the book:

  1. The book was originally set at Yale, Tim was the army-brat hero and Hester, not Alice, was the heroine.
  2. The book was originally written in the third person and there was a murder involved.
  3. The first scene I ever wrote was Alice and Tim kissing in the Bug.

Two truths and a lie about Alice Garrett:

  1. Alice was originally modelled on a combination of Alice in Wonderland and character I loved in a childhood book: Half Magic, by Edward Eager
  2. The bullying that happened to her when she was twelve happened to me, too. We responded different ways.
  3. I first wrote about Jase and Alice as brother and sister—with the same close relationship–when I was fifteen.

Two truths and a lie about Tim Mason:

  1. Tim and Nan’s birthday is actually on Christmas Day but that’s never mentioned.
  2. Despite the fact that he was originally supposed to have two lines in my first book—and then leave and possibly die, Tim has appeared in all three published books I’ve written—and one unpublished one.
  3. Tim was inspired by a real boy I knew in high school—who once had a fistfight on my behalf–but when my name was mentioned to that guy after I wrote My Life Next Door, he didn’t remember me at all.

Have you taken your best guess? Read on to reveal the lies!
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..

The lies are:

  • About Huntley: Number 3
  • About the Book: Number 2
  • About Alice: Number 1
  • About Tim: Number 1 again.
 Stop by YA Interrobang tomorrow for Day #3 and download phone and desktop wallpapers featuring Huntley’s books!
about the bookboy most likely toA surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house.

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To… well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY
  • One (1) first prize winner will receive a YA Goodie Basket filled with all three of Huntley’s books (The Boy Most Likely To, My Life Next Door, and What I Thought Was True), Pushing the Limits and Crash Into You by Katie McGarry, Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally, and The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
  • Two (2) second prize winners will receive audiobooks of The Boy Most Likely To and What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick plus swag
  • Enter via the rafflecopter below
  • US/Canada Only
  • Ends 9/18 at midnight ET
  • For the blog post comment entry, answer the question: How many lies did you correctly identify?

Enter using the Rafflecopter form HERE!

Blog Tour Schedule:
September 7thBookhounds YA
September 8thNovel Novice
September 9thYA Interrobang
September 10thA Backwards Story
September 11thOnce Upon a Twilight
September 14thA Life Bound By Books
September 15thAlison Can Read
September 16thBook Briefs
September 18thAngieville
Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Blog tour, Contests Tags:

7 responses to “The Boy Most Likely To(ur): Two Truths & A Lie (& a Contest!)

  1. BellaBunnell

    What a GREAT post! Really excited for this book. Alas, I only got one of the answers, but the post was fun and entertaining. How can this book not be the same? Thanks for the giveaway! Good luck, all! ❤

  2. Brittany Burton

    Haha, I only identified the first two. The other’s were more difficult for me (the more specific, the more honest it feels).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.