No Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss

Posted February 12, 2015 by Sara | Novel Novice 0 Comments

Book-Reviews-YA
A thoughtful portrayal about one teen’s crisis of faith — both in God and in her family — is the center of Bryan Bliss’s sensitive debut novel, No Parking at the End Times.

no parking at the end timesAbigail’s parents have made mistake after mistake, and now they’ve lost everything. She’s left to decide: Does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail doesn’t know how her dad found Brother John. Maybe it was the billboards. Or the radio. What she does know is that he never should have made that first donation. Or the next, or the next. Her parents shouldn’t have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there with Brother John for the “end of the world.” Because of course the end didn’t come. And now they’re living in their van. And Aaron’s disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right. But maybe it’s too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss’s thoughtful, literary debut novel is about losing everything—and about what you will do for the people you love.

It would be easy to criticize religion — extreme religion belief, in particular. But Bliss offers a thoughtful and thought-provoking portrayal of one teen and her family, who has lost everything after putting their blind faith into one man — and where they must go next when the end times fail to arrive.

Abigail ponders her own feelings on faith, God, and family — and Bliss uses her experiences to really explore modern theology in a mindful, respectful way. Abigail’s journey is largely internal, and No Parking at the End Times takes readers inside her mind for the ride — leading to an ultimately hopeful, uplifting ending.

No Parking at the End Times opens the doors to thoughts and conversations about religion, family, growing-up, and finding your own identity — even when you already thought you knew who you were. Lovingly and carefully written, this is the type of book that will give readers plenty to ponder.

No Parking at the End Times is in stores February 24th.

Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Book Review Tags:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.