I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Posted September 10, 2014 by Sara | Novel Novice 2 Comments


Tragedy and triumph collide in Jandy Nelson’s exhilarating new novel, I’ll Give You the Sun — a captivating and magical read. This was a book that captured me from the very beginning, and refused to let me go until I’d followed twins Noah and Jude through the rest of their incredible journey.

i'll give you the sunA brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant, fully alive, sometimes very funny novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

I have not felt so captivated by a novel in a long time. I’ll Give You the Sun is a book that took hold someplace deep inside of me while reading — and refused to let go, even after I’d finished the last page. It has stuck with me, and I continue to marvel over the beauty of Nelson’s writing and the enchantment of her characters and their stories.

It’s hard to put into words just how magical it was, the experience of reading I’ll Give You the Sun. It’s a story about love and family and truth; about art and expression. About finding out who you are, both as an individual and as part of a family, and as part of the world.

I’ll Give You the Sun is the kind of book that sweeps you away, and leaves you changed for the better having read it from start to finish. Look for it in stores on September 16th.

Save

Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Book Review Tags:

2 responses to “I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.