Girl Defective by Simmone Howell

Posted August 28, 2014 by Sara | Novel Novice 1 Comment


Record store romance. A neighborhood mystery. Finding your place in the world. Girl Defective by Simmone Howell is a captivating and unique spin on the coming-of-age saga.

girl defectiveIn the tradition of High Fidelity and Empire Records, this is the literary soundtrack to Skylark Martin’s strange, mysterious, and extraordinary summer.

This is the story of a wild girl and a ghost girl; a boy who knew nothing and a boy who thought he knew everything.

It’s a story about Skylark Martin, who lives with her father and brother in a vintage record shop and is trying to find her place in the world. It’s about ten-year-old Super Agent Gully and his case of a lifetime. And about beautiful, reckless, sharp-as-knives Nancy. It’s about tragi-hot Luke, and just-plain-tragic Mia Casey. It’s about the dark underbelly of a curious neighborhood. It’s about summer, and weirdness, and mystery, and music.

And it’s about life and death and grief and romance. All the good stuff.

Girl Defective is a cunning blend of the coming of age story, teen romance, and mystery thriller. As Skylark seeks to find out how one teen met her tragic end, she finds herself falling unexpectedly in love with with the dead girl’s brother. All the while, she’s also coming to terms with her mother’s abandonment, her older best friend’s reckless behavior, her father’s stubborn refusal to modernize, and her little brother’s endearing though socially-stunted behavior.

It’s an unexpected blend of genres and topics, but it works. It totally, absolutely works. Girl Defective is a captivating, charming, and unexpected twist on themes and genres so often explored independently. Mushed altogether in this one book, Howell has blended them seamlessly into one quirky little story that so works.

The book is funny and sweet; sad and thought-provoking; and just plain cool. So unique and different, Girl Defective has a little something for everyone. Look for it in stores September 2nd.

Save

Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Book Review Tags:

One response to “Girl Defective by Simmone Howell

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.