Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, the third book in the Throne of Glass series, is a slowly unfolding story of transformation and transition, as Celaena and her friends find themselves each individually facing the question: who do they want to be?

heir of fireLost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?

With their worlds in upheaval, Celaena, Chaol, Dorian, and a new character (no spoilers) find themselves on shaky ground. What forces are they truly facing? Whose side do they want to be on when the inevitable war breaks out? And what kind of person do they want to be? Will they fight for what they know, in their hearts, is right? Or do they take the path of least resistance?

Heir of Fire is perhaps the slowest book in the Throne of Glass series so-far, but that in no way takes away from the enjoyment readers will find within its pages. That’s because the slowness isn’t because nothing happens — but because it is such a reflective chapter in Celaena’s story — for both her, and her friends (despite their distance from each other).

In Heir of Fire, we truly see these characters face an internal struggle and make difficult choices — ultimately building to a dramatic climax that just proves, once again, that Maas knows how to really hook her audience and keep them on their toes. (And keep them longing for more — which is a good thing, as there are an anticipated three more books to come in this series).

Heir of Fire is a transformative book for the Throne of Glass series, as well, in many ways. No longer is this just a series dubbed “Game of Thrones meets The Hunger Games” … no, truly, Heir of Fire sets this series apart as a masterful fantasy epic that needs no comparison.

Heir of Fire is in stores September 2nd.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: