Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Posted July 14, 2014 by Sara | Novel Novice 1 Comment

Creeptastic is probably the best word to describe Emily Carroll’s Through the Woods, a collection of eerie short stories in graphic form. through the woodsNot to be outdone – Carroll’s own illustrations are just as spooky (if not more so) than her stories!

A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

The tone of the stories almost remind me of the utter terror I felt as a child when I read the story “The Green Ribbon” in In a Dark, Dark Room scary stories anthology. Each story is unearthly and unsettling on so many levels, heightened by the moody illustrations.

I read Through the Woods in a single, terrifying sitting –luckily in the middle of the day, as I’m not sure how I would have handled these stories in the dark of night. I remember shuddering after I finished the last one.

The stories and illustrations are so lovely in their craft — but so creepy and disturbing in their content!

Through the Woodsis in stores tomorrow.

 

Save

Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Book Review Tags:

One response to “Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.