Book Review: Brazen by Katherine Longshore

brazen botm banner
Lush historical drama abounds within the pages of Brazen by Katherine Longshore, in which a forbidden romance in the court of Henry VIII comes to life in vivid detail.

brazenMary Howard has always lived in the shadow of her powerful family. But when she’s married off to Henry Fitzroy, King Henry VIII’s illegitimate son, she rockets into the Tudor court’s inner circle. Mary and “Fitz” join a tight clique of rebels who test the boundaries of court’s strict rules with their games, dares, and flirtations. The more Mary gets to know Fitz, the harder she falls for him, but is forbidden from seeing him alone. The rules of court were made to be pushed…but pushing them too far means certain death. Is true love worth dying for?

Longshore brilliantly imagines the agony Mary Howard feels, as she falls more in love with the young husband she’s forbidden from having — and as her family, and the royal family, crumbles around her. Brazen paints a portrait of a strong young woman in a time when strong young women were not encouraged (and sometimes found themselves beheaded). Mary is not your typical heroine, and yet history proves her resiliency; Longshore simply brings her story to life in lush, imagined detail.

Whether you know your Tudor history or not, Brazen brilliantly brings to life the tension thrumming throughout Henry VIII’s court — the threats, the terror, the betrayal … and the romance and scandal this period in history has been associated with. Fans of The Tudors and Reign will adore the drama and romance that abounds within the pages of Brazen, yet there is plenty enticing for all readers to enjoy.

Brazen is a sweeping saga of strength and love, filled with scandal and turmoil that history has laid out for us. Longshore’s writing brings the past to life in tantalizing detail, making Brazen a hold-your-breath page-turner that just can’t be put down.

Brazen is in stores now.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Brazen by Katherine Longshore

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: