The Wig in the Window Review

middle gradeI’m so excited about the release of The Wig in the Window by Kristen Kittscher. When I find an adventure that has great action, believable characters (no stereotypes) and page-turning mystery, I’m hooked.

Official synopsis:

Best friends and seventh graders Sophie Young and Grace Yang have made a wig in the windowgame out of spying on their neighbors. On one of their midnight stakeouts, they witness a terrifying, bloody scene at the home of their bizarre middle-school counselor, Dr. Charlotte Agford (aka Dr. Awkward).

At least, they think they do. The truth is that Dr. Agford was only making her famous pickled beets! But when Dr. Agford begins acting even weirder than usual, Sophie and Grace become convinced that she’s hiding something—and they’re determined to find out what it is.

Soon the girls are breaking secret codes, being followed by a strange blue car, and tailing strangers with unibrows and Texas accents. But as their investigation heats up, Sophie and Grace start to crack under the pressure. They might solve their case, but will their friendship survive?

Perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society, The Wig in the Window is a smart, funny middle-grade mystery with a REAR WINDOW twist.”

Perhaps my biggest pet peeve with Middle Grade mystery is the simplicity of the plots. When my 12 year old niece is insulted by an easily solvable story-line, it’s hard for me to get on board. But this is not the the case with The Wig in the Window. Kristen Kittscher takes her time with her characters, building an unforgettable friendship, with character flaws and motivations that weave complication in an adventure that takes the reader on a ride of hilarity, danger, and ultimately a test of loyalty.

Middle graders will love it, and any adult who loves mystery should pick it up too.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: