Brian Rathbone: “A New Age Benjamin Franklin” – Godsland Series Blog Tour + Contest

Posted December 16, 2013 by Sara | Novel Novice 4 Comments

blog tour banner generic
Today we’re hosting a stop on the Godslands series blog tour — a YA epic/high fantasy adventure series by Brian Rathbone. Today, Brian is stopping by with an exclusive guest post AND a pretty awesome contest — but you can find reviews of his books and audiobooks, as well as interviews, additional guest posts and more. Check out the tour page here for more!

Before we get into Brian’s guest post, check out the books in the Godsland series:

  • Call of the Herald (Book One) – FREE
  • Inherited Danger (Book Two)- FREE
  • Dragon Ore (Book Three)

You can also find it in one bind up called The Dawning of Power Trilogy Omnibus.

Find the full list of titles and links at Brian’s website, as this is only the first trilogy in the World of Godsland series. Here is Brian’s guest post, then keep reading for more about the series and a CONTEST!

*          *          *

Hi, and thanks for having me on your blog. A great big hello to all of your readers out there!

I have to admit that I fancy myself as a bit of a new age Ben Franklin. A sort of redneck Renaissance man who doesn’t think too much of himself and isn’t afraid to have a good time. Never underestimate a person because they are perhaps a tad goofy or different, they might just hand a key on a kite and change the world. Now, I have by no means achieved anything to equal the accomplishments of Mr. Franklin, but it is that to which I aspire.

I do have a few things in common with Ben, so I feel I’m off to a good start. Ben was one of the first self-publishers. He took matters into his own hands and self-published The Way to Wealth and Poor Richard’s Almanack. Both books featured short sayings containing life lessons, such as time is money and a penny saved is a penny earned. He said so much in so few words, and I took inspiration from that. I wrote short sayings for the beginning of each chapter in my books, and I find they serve multiple purposes, not the least of which is to give insight into my world.

I’ve also found that going out of my way to express complex thoughts with as few words as possible has made me a better writer. Twitter has served much the same purpose. I often find myself writing short sayings and jokes for Twitter. I’ve even put a new spin on a few on Ben’s sayings. Telling bad dragon jokes has long been a part of my Twitter persona, and I often take common sayings and inject dragons.

Time is money unless you have dragons, then dragons are money.

There are no gains, without pains. Try dragons. That should work.

Perhaps in the future my inventions and research will change the world, but for now I will do my best to emulate old Ben and hopefully amuse some folks along the way. Thanks for reading and may the light shine on you.

*          *           *

Godsland - The Dawning of PowerGodsland Book One – Call of the Herald

Echoes of the ancients’ power are distant memories, tattered and faded by the passage of eons, but that is about to change. A new dawn has arrived. Latent abilities, harbored in mankind’s deepest fibers, wait to be unleashed. Ancient evils awaken, and old fears ignite the fires of war. When a Catrin Volker, a teenage horse trainer, inadvertently fulfills the prophecy of the destroyer, she becomes the most feared and hunted person on all of Godsland. With the help of her friends, she must convince the world that she wants only peace.

Godsland Book Two – Inherited Danger

Leaving her homeland behind, Catrin Volker goes in search of knowledge and peace, unaware that she will face the greatest evil her world has ever known.

Godsland Book Three- Dragon Ore

Dragon Ore is the exciting conclusion of The Dawning of Power trilogy. Clinging to life, Catrin Volker struggles to regain her strength as her foes go in search of even greater power. Ancient enemies threaten and forgotten alliances emerge.

 About the Author:

Brian Rathbone photoBrian Rathbone started out as a professional racehorse trainer, but he later transformed himself into a network engineer, programmer, and, more recently, rural broadband specialist. One thing that never changed was Brian’s love of reading fantasy fiction. For years he would think of story lines for his own stories as a way to keep from dreaming about writing code. When the time came that Brian could concentrate on writing, The World of Godsland became real.


  • (2) signed first editions of The Dawning of Power
  • (25) ebooks editions of The Dawning of Power
  • (10) audiobook editions
  • Open internationally

Enter to win via Rafflecopter HERE!

Author Sites:

WebsiteTwitter | Facebook | GoodReads | Trailer | Free Web Game Feral Dragons | Free Web Game Grumpy Dragons

Books can be found at: GoodReads | Amazon 


Sara | Novel Novice

Posted in: Blog tour, Contests, Guest Blog Tags:

4 responses to “Brian Rathbone: “A New Age Benjamin Franklin” – Godsland Series Blog Tour + Contest

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.