The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler

Posted September 6, 2013 by Sara | Novel Novice 3 Comments

sept2013 the dark between botm banner
The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler is a spooky, atmospheric novel that blends lovingly-crafted character portraits with a creepy, paranormal mystery-thriller set in turn-of-the-century Cambridge.

Dark Between, The officialA supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

Mood and atmosphere collide with intrigue, romance, and a touch of horror. The Dark Between is smartly-researched and perfectly executed. Gensler elegantly blends historical fiction with the paranormal in an engaging, page-turning plot that will hook readers from the very beginning and keep them racing through the pages until the very last one.

And while the book ties up most threads neatly, Gensler leaves room for a sequel — something readers will definitely be craving (both for more twisting plot lines, and additional time with the excellent characters)!

The Dark Between is a seductive novel chock-full of genre-blending perfection that will capture the imaginations of readers at every plot twist. It is in stores now.

Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Book of the Month, Book Review Tags:

3 responses to “The Dark Between by Sonia Gensler

  1. Ooooh! What a great premise! This review ticks all the boxes for me. A smart, exquisitely crafted novel that is impossible to neatly categorize as any one thing–not suspense, horror, mystery, friends, but a combination of all and MORE. Adding this to my must read list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.