Spellcaster by Claudia Gray

Posted February 28, 2013 by Sara | Novel Novice 3 Comments

Best-selling author Claudia Gray has done it again with the first book in her new series, Spellcaster — a fabulous combination of supernatural powers, breathless romance, charming characters, a delicious villain, and perfectly delectable New England setting.

spellcasterWhen Nadia’s family moves to Captive’s Sound, she instantly realizes there’s more to it than meets the eye. Descended from witches, Nadia senses a dark and powerful magic at work in her new town. Mateo has lived in Captive’s Sound his entire life, trying to dodge the local legend that his family is cursed – and that curse will cause him to believe he’s seeing the future … until it drives him mad. When the strange dreams Mateo has been having of rescuing a beautiful girl—Nadia—from a car accident come true, he knows he’s doomed.

Despite the forces pulling them apart, Nadia and Mateo must work together to break the chains of his family’s terrible curse, and to prevent a disaster that threatens the lives of everyone around them.

Fans of Gray’s Evernight series or her standalone Fateful will have no problem diving right into Spellcaster — but newcomers will also be enchanted by this magical world. As comfortably as this book will find itself on the YA paranormal bookshelves, it would equally fit right in with The CW’s programming for fans of Vampire Diaries and Secret Circle.

Gray once again masterfully creates a world and mythology that’s easy to follow and delightful to discover. As the story progresses, more mysteries unfold and new secrets come to light — all the while laying the groundwork for what will surely be a captivating and enthralling series.

The setting of Spellcaster sets the mood — with the chilly New England atmosphere, churning sea and overcast skies. The characters charm the readers and entice them into the story — from the main characters Nadia and Mateo, to their unlikely friend Verlaine and wicked villain Elizabeth. And the captivating, mysterious storyline draws readers from page to page. I couldn’t put this book down until I’d finished every last page, and I can’t wait for the next one in this enchanting new series.

Spellcaster is in stores March 5th.

Sara | Novel Novice
Divider

Posted in: Book Review Tags:

3 responses to “Spellcaster by Claudia Gray

  1. […] 1. Sara @ Novel Novice says: “The setting of Spellcaster sets the mood — with the chilly New England atmosphere, churning sea and overcast skies. Gray once again masterfully creates a world and mythology that’s easy to follow and delightful to discover. I couldn’t put this book down until I’d finished every last page, and I can’t wait for the next one in this enchanting new series.” Read the full review […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.