More to read from Black Heart author Holly Black

Posted April 27, 2012 by Sara 1 Comment

Our month-long feature on Black Heart and the Curse Workers series by Holly Black is nearly over — but before we bid farewell to one of our all-time favorite series, we thought we’d take a look at Holly’s OTHER books. Because, ya know, she’s got lots more to offer!

A Modern Tale of Faerie Series:

  • Tithe
  • Valiant
  • Ironside

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms — a struggle that could very well mean her death.

The Spiderwick Chronicles series (written with Tony DiTerlizzi)

It all started with a mysterious letter left at a tiny bookstore for authors Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black. Its closing lines: “We just want people to know about this. The stuff that has happened to us could happen to anyone.” Little could they imagine the remarkable adventure that awaited them as they followed Jared, Simon, and Mallory Grace and a strange old book into a world filled with elves, goblins, dwarves, trolls, and a fantastical menagerie of other creatures. The oddest part is in entering that world, they didn’t leave this one!

The Good Neighbors graphic novels

Rue Silver’s mother has disappeared . . . and her father has been arrested, suspected of killing her. But it’s not as straightforward as that. Because Rue is a faerie, like her mother was. And her father didn’t kill her mother — instead, he broke a promise to Rue’s faerie king grandfather, which caused Rue’s mother to be flung back to the faerie world. Now Rue must go to save her — and must also defeat a dark faerie that threatens our very mortal world.

Holly has also written some wonderful short stories. You can browse the anthologies that include her work here.

Holly has plenty more coming soon, too!

In Spring 2013, look for her new middle grade novel Doll Bones

Three kids — Zachary, Poppy and Alice — who go on a journey, despite their own uncertain friendship, to bury a doll that may or may not be made from human bones.

And in Fall 2013, check out her new YA novel, Coldest Girl in Coldtown:

“A refreshing and inventive new twist” on the vampire genre; set in the not-so-distant future, where the vampire population has surged, resulting in the establishment of quarantined cities of vampires and humans where predator and prey coexist in a never-ending blood party of revelry.

In 2014, she & Cassandra Clare will release the first book in their five-book middle grade series, The Iron Trial:

Twelve-year-old Callum Hunt has grown up knowing three rules by heart. Never trust a magician. Never pass a test a magician gives you. And never let a magician take you to the Magisterium. Callum is about to break all the rules. And when he does, his life will change in ways he can’t possibly imagine.

For the comments: Have you read any of Holly’s other books/stories? Share your favorites!


Posted in: Book of the Month Tags:

One response to “More to read from Black Heart author Holly Black

Leave a Reply