Book recommendation for fans of Beautiful Creatures


Do you love our February Book of the Month – Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl? Looking for something new to read? Then today’s post is just for you!

For all lovers of Beautiful Creatures, we are recommending the book:

Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil
by John Berendt

This book is what you might call “literary nonfiction,” because it’s based on true events — but it reads like a crime novel.

What Beautiful Creatures fans may love most about Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil is its setting of Savannah, Georgia — both books sharing the lush, Southern setting.

The books also share other similarities — voodoo, Southern mannerisms (both the gentility and the prejudice against anything different), the cuisine — and a town up in arms over a scandal.

John Berendt’s book was also adapted into a movie starring John Cusack, Kevin Spacey and a bevy of others — and directed by Clint Eastwood. It’s rare that a movie can adequately represent the book it was based on, but this one is the exception. Both the book and the movie are spectacular!  In fact, for those who have read Beautiful Creatures, I frequently pictured Kevin Spacey’s character in the movie version of Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil as the character of Macon in BC.

Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil is at once charming, intriguing, funny, dramatic, and engaging. I highly recommend both the book and the movie!

To learn more, check out the official synopsis of Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil and watch the movie trailer below:

Shots rang out in Savannah’s grandest mansion in the misty, early morning hours of May 2, 1981. Was it murder or self-defense? For nearly a decade, the shooting and its aftermath reverberated throughout this hauntingly beautiful city of moss-hung oaks and shaded squares. John Berendt’s sharply observed, suspenseful, and witty narrative reads like a thoroughly engrossing novel, and yet it is a work of non-fiction. Berendt skillfully interweaves a hugely entertaining first-person account of life in this isolated remnant of the Old South with the unpredictable twists and turns of a landmark murder case.

It is a spellbinding story peopled by a gallery of remarkable characters: the well-bred society ladies of the Married Woman’s Card Club; the turbulent young redneck gigolo; the hapless recluse who owns a bottle of poison so powerful it could kill every man, woman, and child in Savannah; the aging and profane Southern belle who is the ‘soul of pampered self-absorption'; the uproariously funny black drag queen; the acerbic and arrogant antiques dealer; the sweet-talking, piano-playing con artist; young blacks dancing the minuet at the black debutante ball; and Minerva, the voodoo priestess who works her magic in the graveyard at midnight.

See everything from our Beautiful Creatures February Book of the Month feature.

UPDATE: Well, it turns out that BC authors Kami & Margie are also big fans of this book. Check it out:

(Photo credit: Vania Stoyanova; used with permission)

For the comments: Have you read Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil or seen the movie? Tell us your thoughts!

About these ads

One response to “Book recommendation for fans of Beautiful Creatures

  1. If you like John Cusack, make sure to check out the 2012 facebook page :) http://bit.ly/kBzNs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s